He lived adjacent to me #MyRoleModel

#MyRoleModel, the phrase usually to alot of people reminds them of someone really close to them, like a mother or father. But this is something else for me. Though my parents have always played a very important part of my life and an inspiration in everything they do, but this man is someone who I hardly meet but still whenever I do, he leaves me awestruck. This man is a 61year old man B.P. Pandya and he lives in the building adjacent to mine.

B.P. Pandya being a lawyer by profession is a very well read, intelligent and a man with deep thoughts. I would have never known him, but one day he just came up to me to ask me about my interests and family and also said that he saw me visiting the temple were we met regularly. It was a casual chat, but later on we usually met and had chats about various things in life, specially studies as I was just in standard 9th then.  His guidances always made a difference in my thought processes and decisions, which eventually made me think of him whenever I had a difficulty in making choices in life.

At one such situations, when I had trouble choosing between carries options for myself, as media was something i wanted to pursue and my parents wanted to make be a chartered accountant. I straight away went to Mr. B.P. Pandya to tell him the scene and that the only reason my parents want me to be a CA was because they believed it will give me secured career and good money in future. I can never forget that one statement he made then which made my decision taking the easiest thing ever. What he said was: No matter what degree you take, or what career option you choose, the amount of money you earn and here you end up in life is all your destiny.

That was it. I still have this one statement of his in mind whenever I have to make a difficult choice in life!

#MyRoleModel as a part of the activity by Gillette India in association with BlogAdda.com

Leave a Reply

